A Place to Belong

From April 12 to 15, Hamilton welcomes the best of Canadian books and authors to the 14th annual gritLIT Readers and Writers Festival. The tagline for gritLIT 2018 is “A Place to Belong,” and this year’s festival is built around events that celebrate, question or challenge the idea of belonging.

We are thrilled to present an engaging line-up for this year’s festival and look forward to seeing you in April.

Festival Schedule

Purchase a weekend pass

Share the Love Campaign

Share the Love loho

Each year, the gritLIT Readers & Writers festival brings our Hamilton community together in a safe, welcoming space for readings, discussions, interviews, and workshops that celebrate the dynamic, diverse and immersive world of Canadian books. The Share the Love of Reading campaign will help us ensure that every Hamilton booklover has access to the festival without economic barriers. For every $10 raised, we will donate one Mainstage Event Ticket to a local charity for use by the communities they serve. Donate today!